Home > Uncategorized > A Teensy Bit of Progress

A Teensy Bit of Progress

Right, then…

A couple of days ago I mentioned building up the Bob Jackson frame which would basically be a mash up of newly-acquired (but not necessarily new) parts, and parts from my two existing Dawes’ – the fixie will be stripped of parts and will be going out of commission/sold/donated; the touring bike will swap out some parts and be reincarnated as an upright townie bike.

Welp, I finally got off my ass and made a move – the FG has been torn down.  The BB is now on the Bob Jackson; the frame and the Dawes fork will be dropped off at Willow Glen Bicycles to have a headset installed (and have the steerer tube shortened and threaded).

The main purpose of this is due to the fact that I’m moving.  I already fell silly with five bikes (only two of which are in regular rotation; the other two are in occasional use and one (MTB) is hanging in the rafters).  I did not want to show up with six bikes, so I figured now would be a good time to start the project.

Also, the focus now is to see how cheaply I can build up the Bobby J, using existing and used parts.  Granted, some stuff will need to be new.  It’s more of a challenge for me, now.

The bad news is that I no longer have a fixie…sooner or later that vacuum will need to be filled…along with a Mixte and 17 thousand million other bikes.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

