Home > Uncategorized > Slight Change in Plans

Slight Change in Plans

“…ran into a chum with a bottle of rum, and we wound up drinking all night…”

–Jimmy Buffett, Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes

Right, then…

So to be honest, the change in yesterdays training was not quite that exotic.  Not long after the last post, I received a call from an old friend.  I knew that she was going to be in the Bay Area, but we were supposed to get together later in the week.  Turns out, her friend that she was going to visit had an emergency, so she asked if I’d be able to change my training plans.

Well, hell.

While I have acknowledged that running (and biking and whateverthehell else) is basically me channeling my propensity for drinking beer into other, more constructive pursuits, I have the ability to squelch it on occasion.  A call from a 19-year friend is one of those occasions.  So, instead of doing a bike/run brick, we had lunch, tooled around Los Gatos, then went to a friend’s house for barbecue.

Today, I did a 5 mile run, instead – so the weekend was not a total loss.

It’s all about balance.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

